h1

French Toast with Balsamic Glazed Strawberries

March 24, 2010

Breakfast is my favourite meal of the day and on weekends I love to cook up delicious Aussie cafe style dishes. I really miss breakfast/brunch choices like muesli with yogurt and poached fruit, pancakes with honeycomb butter or French toast with fruit compote.

I’m one of those people who loves cooked fruit. I know plenty who don’t though and English boy is one of them, so if I cook French toast he gets a savoury version to soak up some worcestershire sauce and I get a sweet, fruity treat. I love throwing bananas in the pan til they are caramelised, or a handful of blueberries until they turn into a jammy, blueberry sauce to drizzle over the plate. Today my treat was balsamic glazed strawberries.

I’m afraid it was so yummy that I gobbled it up without pausing to take a photo so all I have to show for it is this empty plate.

French toast is a really nice recipe to use with gluten-free bread as it makes the bread a bit more tasty and moist than the dry stuff straight from the packet.

To make the French toast, crack a few eggs into a bowl and whisk with a little soy milk (and some vanilla extract if serving with fruit). Dip each side of the bread in the egg mix but don’t leave to soak. Cook in a frying pan over a moderate heat with a little butter so it doesn’t stick.  I also throw some fruit in the pan when the bread goes in. Today I used quartered strawberries, a dash of balsamic vinegar and a sprinkle of brown sugar and this turned into a lovely strawberry sauce to drizzle over the toast. Cook the toast for 3-4 minutes each side until golden brown. Stack on a plate and top with cooked fruit. Dust with icing sugar if you fancy. Yum.

Was this helpful? Have any questions? Please leave a comment below.

